Femme Friday: Crochet Trimmed Shorts DIY

The Modern Minion: DIY fashion is good. DIY fashion for Femme Friday is incredible. Friend and fellow style fan Amber Coghill delivers a clever DIY that’s as easy as it is affordable. Make sure to follow her on Twitter for all her crafty fashion ideas. ❘

The inspiration for this DIY came from these fantastic crochet detailed Guess shorts I came across in Toronto. They were absolutely adorable but I walked away from them because I couldn’t justify paying $99 when I knew I could come up with something just as cute.

As soon as I found them online, I made a trip to Goodwill to buy an old pair of jeans in a light wash that I could cut off and distress. My next stop was the fabric store to buy a couple metres of lace. After better studying the original shorts online, however, I realized that lace wouldn’t provide the same effect. So I headed to my garage to dig through some of my grandma’s things that had been left when she moved out of her apartment. I came across an old tablecloth that I knew had just the right details I needed.

Materials in hand, I began by cutting off the jeans to a length I was comfortable with. Using a pair of scissors, I added some distressing and frayed the the raw edges.

I looked at the tablecloth and cut out some designs that I thought would work well.

I wanted to make sure that the pieces would stay in place so I hand stitched each one onto the shorts. After working at it for a bit, I understood why the Guess pair was $99. Stitching the crochet took longer than I expected, but I just crashed on the couch and caught up on my shows.

Regardless of the time they took to complete, I couldn’t be happier with my shorts. While the original shorts cost $99, mine came in at an incredible $6, the cost of the jeans. If you don’t have a crochet tablecloth, try hitting up garage sales or local thrift stores. Once you start looking, you’ll be surprised how easy they are to find.

I am in love with these shorts! They look great with everything, from a casual tee to a dressier top. For a savings of almost $90, it’s definitely worth it to tackle your own clever, crochet creation.

Happy Femme Friday!

-Amber

One response

  1. Love this! These shorts are so cute <3 Stop by and say hi!

    June 30, 2012 at 12:36 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers