Femme Friday: Pin Up Swimwear

There is something undeniably iconic about the vintage pin up girl. She’s beautiful, feminine, sexy, and yet classy enough to earn respect as well as admiration. Women wanted to be her and men wanted to, well you know.

When I stumbled across this 1940’s print ad of Rosemary La Planche (left) and Alma Carroll (right) at an antique mall earlier this week, I was immediately drawn to its color and subtle sexiness. The swimwear featured inspired me to hunt down some modern pieces patterned after suits from days gone by. Anthropologie, known for its vintage, feminine feel, offers these beautiful, simple swim suits worthy of being pinned on any wall (or blog).

Nothing says femme quite like these gems.

A special thanks to my friend and photographer Erica from Erica Lee Style for her helpful tips on women’s swimwear, of which I knew nothing about.

Row 1: Yakima bikini by Nanette Lepore $174; Sweetheart Patchwork Maillot by Camilla and Marc $218. Row 2: Dolly Gingham Maillot by Seafolly $168; Kamini Swimsuit by Nanette Lepore $192. Row 3: Star-Scattered Bikini by Pez D’Or $136; Natalie One-Piece by Seafolly $148. All images via Anthropologie

5 responses

  1. BandD

    Love them, I found a perfect match for me this summer!! Lovely post x

    April 20, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    • Thank you! I didn’t realize it was so tough to find good swimwear for women until I had to look myself. I’m glad I only have one option as a man!

      April 20, 2012 at 12:34 PM

  2. Love! If only I could afford all of them!

    April 20, 2012 at 1:29 PM

  3. Reblogged this on Mantastic Voyage.

    April 20, 2012 at 3:35 PM

Leave a Reply

