Shave in Style

Style is more than just having a polished wardrobe; it’s also important to have a polished face.

For years I suffered under the tyranny of expensive multi-bladed razor cartridges that never lasted more than a week against my thick beard. Sick of shelling out so much cash to get a silky smooth mug, I switched to a classic double edge razor. After mastering the learning curve, I’m a believer in simple blades.

For my extremely sensitive skin, my new routine is a God send. The single blade doesn’t dig into my skin unlike with previous razors. Although my beard is thick enough to warrant a new blade every shave, the blades themselves are only about $.40 a piece. I completed my shaving set up with a proper badger hair and shave soap.

Once an awful chore, shaving has become an experience I actually look forward to.

What say you, minions? What does your shaving routine look like?

Merkur Razor via Amazon; Van Der Hagen Shave Soap; Nivea For Men Post Shave Balm; Badger Hair Brush (handed down to me)

3 responses

  1. Thanks!

    May 2, 2012 at 12:42 PM

  2. Long have I loathed the need to shave my face. The cyclical problem being that because I dislike it so much, I wait as long as I can, which in turn, only makes it harder to shave. The cost of razors for my Mach3 being $15 for 4 new blades, doesn’t help the situation either, so this seems like a good step in the right direction of shaving. I’ll have to try out the double edge razor. Thanks for sharing!

    May 3, 2012 at 10:31 AM

    • I have really sensitive skin & a course beard and a DE razor is better & cheaper than any Mach 3,5,17, etc. that I used before. I’ve found the key is a good lather and sharp blade. Thanks for reading, sir!

      May 3, 2012 at 10:39 AM

Leave a Reply

