Vintage Style Shot: White Double Breasted Jacket

I come from a long lineage of stylish gentleman. For generations the men of my family have known how to dress well. My great uncle, photographed here in 1937, had a dapper style I have come to respect.

The list of men who can successfully pull off a white double breasted suit in 2012 is a short one, and I imagine it was even smaller back then. But he wears it impeccably, adding a simple black tie and pocket square. And from the air of confidence radiating from these photographs, he knew exactly how perfect he looked. He also understood the power of versatility, pairing the white DB jacket with black pants for a look that’s much more James Bond (not that he knew that).

I count myself lucky to be able to look to the past to draw inspiration for my own style future.

Lanvin jacket via Bergdorf Goodman $2,450; J.Crew Essential chino in 484 slim fit $70; Express Silk Tie $40; Giorgio Brutini wingtips via Zappos.com $75

I get it; a jacket that costs more than my first car is a bit ridiculous. I’ve got you covered. Try a white DB sport coat from Brooks Brothers for $398 or a John W. Nordstrom linen alternative for $345.

2 responses

  1. I adore scanned photos from my great aunt’s time. It’s so interesting to see how different (yet similar) people look. But there’s something about the way they carry themselves that’s different than today.

    I’m not sure I could ever get my boyfriend to wear a white sport coat, but I do think it has a time and place (with the right attitude). That linen option would be perfect for summertime.

    May 7, 2012 at 9:17 PM

    • They definitely had a different air about them, one that doesn’t seem as evident today.

      I’ve never worn a white jacket before, but I might have to take a cue from my ancestor and be brave this summer! Thanks for your thoughts!

      May 8, 2012 at 12:21 PM

Leave a Reply

